Protecting Al Mackey and Jimmy Dick

Recently Nick Sacco posted a very Good Article “False Dichotomies and Slippery Slopes in the Confederate Iconography Debate” in this article the question is asked when will it stop? You can read the article here — https://pastexplore.wordpress.com/2015/12/20/false-dichotomies-and-slippery-slopes-in-the-confederate-iconography-debate/comment-page-1/#comment-2849

I didn’t reply to Nick, directly but to Al Mackey and Jimmy Dick’s comments. I replied in a factual civil manner, no insults; and Sacco used his little delete button to remove all my responses except one, which he replied to.. The only reason I can guess is there was to much truth in my responses or I put Mackey and Dick in a rather uncomfortable position and Sacco would d not allow that. Below you will find what responses I posted today and the only post Sacco left. Any comments I make after this point will be copied in the comment section.

I had some respect for Sacco as a decent fellow, I guess I judged him to quick.

***********************************************************
gpthelastrebel December 21, 2015 at 10:25 am | Reply

Removing everything Confederate is not gonna change history. The cause of the war will still be “revenue” Lincoln will still have started the war and be a racist, Black men and women will still have supported the Confederacy and secession will still not be illegal.and you will still not be able to prove me wrong.

Nick Sacco December 21, 2015 at 1:02 pm | Reply

You’re right, George. We can’t change history. But we can change our understanding of history and revise our previous understandings of it through a rigorous analysis of primary source documents and other available evidence. There will be some public iconography that will need to be removed or altered because it’s simply inaccurate and no longer worthy of a place of honor. Your comments about the cause of the war and so-called “black confederates” are grounded more in opinion and political belief than actual historical evidence. Seeing as though we’ve gone down this road before I think it’s pointless to debate these same topics again. I wish you and yours a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
********************************************

gpthelastrebel December 22, 2015 at 11:02 am | Reply

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

and you are gonna change “our understanding” by removing everything Confederate. What a capital idea, wish I would have thought of that. Maybe we can understand Lincoln’s a racism by removing the Lincoln Monument?

Is “our understanding” supposed to be the same as your posters who openly display a hate for Confederate, yet try to pass themselves off as historians?

Why did you remove my other civil posts? Are you afraid I will hurt the feeling of Mackey or some of these others who are lucky enough to fall under your protection?

George Purvis
Southern Heritage Advancement Preservation znd education

**********************************************************

4. cagraham December 21, 2015 at 2:44 pm | Reply

I agree that “where does it stop?” is not a good question. What is better? I’m thinking something along the lines of … How do stewards act to ensure that the process of enacting community decisions is healthy, productive, and responsive to current needs?

Nick Sacco December 21, 2015 at 8:49 pm | Reply

That’s a good question to ask, and it’s worth asking in many other contexts besides this discussion.

gpthelastrebel December 22, 2015 at 11:06 am | Reply

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

it will stop when every mention of the Confederacy is gone. We already see some attacks on ex- presidents of the US. These people here are biased and bigoted, just read their blogs. They do have the backbone to come to a neutral site and debate me on facts. I am mildly surprised that Nick protects them from the truth. I am more surprised that Nick associates with them.

George Purvis
Cold Southern Steel

7 thoughts on “Protecting Al Mackey and Jimmy Dick

  1. Patrick,

    So you are telling us there was no racism in The North —Prove it. You tell me the war was about slavery– prove it. I am not embarrassed at all about my ancestors fighting an invading army to protect their homes. Are you embarrassed with the burning, raping, thievery and atrocities committed by your ancestors. Since your side won I would guess not. The fact that my ancestors killed “tens of thousands” Yankees is just a plus, to bad they didn’t kill more.

    What does Obama have to do with the monuments or the war . He more than likely doesn’t have clue about this event, which doesn’t surprise me. He doesn’t seem to have a clue about anything. Now jump on me about that statement if you dare.

    The monuments were erected exactly where they should be and were honored by both black and white races as representing their cause. The only reason they are coming under attack to day is because of ignorance and bigotry. That is apparent even to someone who has no historical knowledge. The fact that negroes can vote has no bearing on the removal of anything Confederate. In most cases this decision is made by one or two individuals and when a group takes action it is usual a Negro group, and the WHITES do not have a chance to vote. Ironic isn’t it, the right to vote.

    Now tell me about the thousands of Negroes who served the Confederacy. Do you know that fact? I ‘ll bet there is a lot you don’t know. Why don’t you come to Cold Southern Steel or Southern Heritage Advancement Preservation and Education and we will discuss factual War For Southern Independence history. I would do it here but Nick likes to remove my civil post.

    George Purvis
    Southern Heritage Advancement Preservation and Education
    http://southernheritageadvancementpreservatio

    Cold Southern Steel
    https://coldsouthernsteel.wordpress.com/

  2. Well now George you know you and I are not their intellectual equals, we are just a couple of ole rednecks from Mississippi we are lucky to even get a response from these great minds. After all they have reviewed 150 years of history written by historians who lived during the age in question and have found them woefully ignorant. We should just accept what they tell us because we are wayyyyy to dumb to come to our own understanding of history. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and yours. And the hell with all the yankees.

  3. George,

    Thanks for the kind words about my article, but this is just silly. You and I know that you’re not telling the truth when you state that all of your comments were factual and not insulting, and you have not copied all of the comments you say you left into this post despite saying that you did so. You have made false claims about numerous bloggers hating the South and saying biased and bigoted things. It’s simply not true. I have the right to moderate my comment section and delete comments that I deem insulting or not relevant to the discussion at hand. I’ll also have you know that I’ve deleted a couple comments from others directed towards you that I thought were out of line and not relevant to the discussion, but that might not make a difference in your book. It’s unfortunate that you think I’m not a decent person but you’re entitled to feel that way.

  4. Nick Sacco December 22, 2015 at 2:04 pm

    I have the right to moderate my comments and remove comments that I deem as insulting of myself or others and ones that are irrelevant to the topic at hand. Your “civil posts” include insults towards myself and other bloggers and comments that are completely irrelevant to the conversation. I’ve deleted other comments directed towards you in the past, so I guess that means you’re “lucky” to receive my protection too. You need to stop it with all of this silliness, George. Good day.

    **********************************
    Nick,
    Sure you have the right to remove any post you want, civil or not, but then it just becomes a one sided lovefest Now since I have not insulted anyone please kindly repost my responses. Also tell me why I would insult you when you are letting me post? Show these insults please.

    Now truth be known I was deliberately insulting to Patrick just to see if you would let that post stand. I see it is still there cpuld it be because I also made the same poat at Cold Southern Steel??? https://coldsouthernsteel.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/protecting-al-mackey-and-jimmy-dick/

    Is that the action I am going to have to take in hopes my posts show up?

    You say you have protected me?? Maybe, maybe not, but rest assured I can protect myself. I did note one thing, you removed Jimmy Dicks name to a response I made but still left the response. That action is sort of telling don’t you think?

    No I do not need to stop nothing, as long as the likes of Mackey, Dick, Hall, Levin, and you continue to attack southern heritage, I will continue to defend with fact— and it is facts that really offends you folks.

    George Purvis
    Southern Heritage Advancement Preservation and Education

  5. Andy Hall December 22, 2015 at 6:55 pm | Reply

    A more practical answer to “where do we stop?” has to be determined by local communities and based on who and what they want to commemorate in a place of honor. There is simply no one-size-fits-all answer to the question.

    ___
    Nick Sacco December 22, 2015 at 9:51 pm | Reply
    Exactly so. Each community has to sort out for itself what (and even if) to change about its landscape. Some communities, for example, have changed the names of schools named for famous Confederates, while some others have considered the question, and decided not to change. Either way is fine; what’s important is that these discussions — vitriolic though they sometimes are — are finally happening now, out in the open. It’s way past time for that to happen.

    *******************************************
    So then if it is a “Community” thing, why does Mackey, Dick, you and Hall have such an interest. Why do you folks have to agitate the situation with lies and mis-information when it is really NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS!!!!!

    The answer is simple racism, bigotry and hate and ignorance.

Leave a Reply

