Bending Over Backwards to Protect Lincoln

 

 

Then Sir we will give them the bayonet.

http://studycivilwar.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/abraham-lincoln-and-racial-equality/

 

Well it appears that Al Mackey will go to any length to defend the well-known racism of Lincoln. I am not going into a long drawn out post on this subject. I will just take Mackey’s first entry and prove his defense of Lincoln is a useless waste of time.

This time Mackey is attacking Mr. Alan Singer, a professor of Teaching, Literacy and Leadership at Hofstra University. Mr. Singer posted this Lincoln quote –

Lincoln said, “I am not, nor ever have been, in favor of bringing about in any way the social and political equality of the white and black races, that I am not, nor ever have been, in favor of making voters or jurors of negroes, nor of qualifying them to hold office, nor to intermarry with white people; and I will say in addition to this that there is a physical difference between the white and black races which I believe will forever forbid the two races living together on terms of social and political equality … I will add to this that I have never seen, to my knowledge, a man, woman, or child who was in favor of producing a perfect equality, social and political, between negroes and white men.”  Singer claims, “This was before Lincoln was elected president and before the outbreak of the Civil War, but Lincoln’s speeches, writings, and actions after these events continued to reflect this point of view about race and equality.”  What is most interesting about this quote is what Singer chooses to leave out of it through his use of the ellipses.

Al Mackey thinks he can white wash Lincoln’s racism by post example—

Starting at Mackey’s point “And what Lincoln said right after this is important, too:”

“I say upon this occasion I do not perceive that because the white man is to have the superior position the negro should be denied everything. I do not understand that because I do not want a negro woman for a slave I must necessarily want her for a wife. [Cheers and laughter.] My understanding is that I can just let her alone. I am now in my fiftieth year, and I certainly never have had a black woman for either a slave or a wife. So it seems to me quite possible for us to get along without making either slaves or wives of negroes. I will add to this that I have never seen to my knowledge a man, woman or child who was in favor of producing a perfect equality, social and political, between negroes and white men.” [Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln, Vol 3, p. 146]

 

Note the bold black portion of this speech, which Mackey himself posted, this would also include Lincoln and Mackey for that matter. While Mackey did post the whole quote I am not sure he helped Lincoln ease his racial pains. It does serve to prove Lincoln was a racist. It proves Mackey is wrong and there just isn’t much need to go over Mackey’s entire post.

Leave a Reply

